The 2015 Prigogine Gold Medal was awarded to Bai-Lian Larry Li, Professor at the University of California, USA.

Larry li

The Prigogine Gold Medal 2015 Award Ceremony took place on Wednesday 3rd June in València. This prestigious event is sponsored by the Politecnic University of València, on the occasion of the 10th International Conference on Ecosystems and Sustainable Development and the 21st International Conference on Urban Transport and the Environment. The Prigogine Medal was established in 2004 by the University of Siena and the Wessex Institute of Technology to honour the memory of Professor Ilya Prigogine, Nobel Prize Winner for Chemistry.

Ilya Prigogine was born in Moscow in 1917, and obtained his undergraduate and graduate education in chemistry at the Free University in Brussels. He was awarded the Nobel Prize for his contribution to non-equilibrium thermodynamics, particularly the theory of dissipative structures. The main theme of his scientific work was the role of time in the physical sciences and biology. He contributed significantly to the understanding of irreversible processes,particularly in systems far from equilibrium. The results of his work have had profound consequences for understanding biological and ecological systems. Prigogine’s ideas established the basis for ecological systems research. The Prigogine Medal to honour his memory is awarded annually to a leading scientist in the field of ecological systems. All recipients have been deeply influenced by the work of Prigogine.

Towards an energetically and thermodynamically-sounded approach to ecological complexity, modelling and sustainability to be delivered by Professor B. Larry Li at the Polytecnic University of València, Spain

For further information about the Prigogine Awards, please contact:

Wessex Institute of Technology
Ashurst Lodge, Ashurst
SO40 7AA, UK
Tel: +44 (0) 238 029 3223
Fax: +44 (0) 238 029 2853
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

For details of the previous Prigogine Award see:

Further details of all Prigogine Awards can be found on our dedicated page: Prigogine Award